New Brunswick.—The New Brunswick Electric Power Commission was incorporated under the Electric Power Act 1920. Generating stations owned by the Commission are as follows:—

Plant	Type	Capacity	Plant	Type	Capacity
Musquash Tobique Grand Lake Saint John Chatham	Hydro Steam Steam	. 27,000 . 58,700 . 21,500	St. Stephen Campobello Grand Manan Shippegan St. Quentin	Diesel Diesel	. 300 . 900 . 2,500
			TOTAL CAP	. 140,570	

All generating units, with the exception of diesel plants at St. Quentin, Campobello and Grand Manan are interconnected in a province-wide grid system.

The statistical information given in Table 16 shows the growth of the Commission's undertakings since 1952.

16.—Growth of the	New Brunswick Ele	ctric Power Commission	, Years Ended Mar. 31, 1952-56
-------------------	-------------------	------------------------	--------------------------------

Item	1952	1953	1954	1955	1956
High-voltage transmission line miles Distribution line	$749 \\ 5,938 \\ 57,016 \\ 103,310 \\ 282,405,310 \\ 38,286,374 \\ 6,255,615 \\ \end{cases}$	$\begin{array}{r} 827\\ 6,245\\ 61,054\\ 140,570\\ 321,232,150\\ 48,120,336\\ 7,059,588\end{array}$	859 6,681 64,181 140,570 379,369,500 52,077,662 7,814,229	$\begin{array}{r} 888\\ 6,891\\ 66,531\\ 140,570\\ 422,750,090\\ 56.634,724\\ 8,528,459\end{array}$	1,0716,93769,415140,570493,609,04071,140,2509,635,272

<sup>1</sup> Additions to capacity are outlined at p. 563.

**Quebec.**—The Quebec Streams Commission.—Created by S.Q. 1 Geo. V, c. 5, and given additional powers by 3 Geo. V, c. 6 (R.S.Q. 1925, c. 46) and 20 Geo. V, c. 34, the Quebec Streams Commission was authorized to ascertain the water resources of the Province, to make recommendations regarding their control, and to construct and operate certain storage dams to regulate the flow of streams. It assisted companies engaged in such work by the systematic collection of data on the flow of the principal rivers and on meteorological conditions, by investigation of numerous water power sites and determination of the longitudinal profile of a large number of rivers.

On Apr. 1, 1955, the Quebec Streams Commission was abolished and its powers and attributions transferred to the Hydraulic Resources Department, Province of Quebec. The rivers controlled by the Commission at the time of transfer, either by means of dams on the rivers or by regulating the outflow of lakes at the headwaters, were: the St. Maurice, the Gatineau, the Lièvre, the St. Francis, the Chicoutimi, the Au Sable, and the Métis. The Commission also operated nine reservoirs on North River, two in the watershed of the Ste. Anne-de-Beaupré River, and one at the outlet of Lake Morin on Rivière-du-Loup (lower).

Other Reservoir Control.—Storage reservoirs otherwise controlled or operated are: the Lake St. John, the Lake Manouane and Passe Dangereuse on the Peribonca River, and the Onatchiway on the Shipshaw River; the Témiscouata Lake on Madawaska River, controlled by the Gatineau Power Company; Memphremagog Lake on the Magog River, controlled by the Dominion Textile Company; Témiscamingue and Quinze Lakes on the Ottawa River, controlled by the Federal Department of Public Works; Kipawa Lake on the Ottawa River, controlled by the Gatineau Power Company; and Dozois Lake on the Utawa River, controlled by the Gatineau Power Company; and Dozois Lake on the upper Ottawa River and Pipmaukin Lake in the Bersimis River watershed, controlled by the Quebec Hydro-Electric Commission.